Yoga Mudra Types And Benefits

What is Yoga Mudra?

Yoga Mudra, or simply Mudra is derived from the Sanskrit word, meaning “closure” or “seal”. We all know that the human body is developed of 5 elements of nature, namely- Earth, Fire, Air, Water, and Aakash. Any disruption in the balance of these five elements can hamper our immune system and make us prone to diseases. Mudras basically connect the different parts of the body to each other and thus balance the imbalance between these elements.

yoga mudra types and benefits
Mudra defines several hand positions, which are physical gestures that can correct the flow of energy through our body. Consequently the disease caused by that certain imbalance is cured. Mudras generate electromagnetic currents through the system, which in turn balance the various elements and thus restore our health.  Contact or joining of our fingers creates beneficial effects on our body. The ancient practice of Yoga Mudras links our hands to the changing aspects of our spiritual and mental health. These Mudras are in reality different positions of our fingers.

Types of Yoga Mudra

Before exploring the art of Yoga Mudra further, let us first see, what each finger represents with respect to the five elements:

  • Thumb: Fire
  • Index Finger: Air
  • Middle Finger: Aakash
  • Ring Finger: Earth
  • Little Finger: Water

To explain in detail about the major types of Yoga Mudra, here are a few examples:

  • Gyan Mudra: The most common type of Mudra on which you connect the thumb tips and index finger, while stretching the other three and keeping them joined as well. This dominant Mudra is also commonly referred to as the “seal of knowledge.” As stated earlier, the thumb is the symbol of fire and thus it represents divine nature, while the index finger symbolizes air and the human consciousness. The union of these two fingers is thus believed to depict knowledge and expand our perception.
  • Shoonya Mudra: Touch the base of your thumb with the middle finger while resting the thumb on the latter, while keeping other 3 fingers stretched and straight. Also referred to as the “seal of patience, this Mudra instills patience and increases focus plus discipline.
  • Apaan Mudra: Join the tips of the middle and ring finger with the thumb tip while keeping the other fingers straight and stretched.
  • Prana Mudra: Join the tips of the little and ring finger with the thumb tip while keeping the other fingers straight and stretched.
  • Vayu Mudra: Press the base of your thumb with the index finger while resting the thumb on the latter, while keeping the other three fingers stretched and straight.
  • Prithvi Mudra: Keep the tips of your thumb and ring finger joined
  • Varun Mudra: Keep the tips of your thumb and little finger joined.
  • Surya Mudra: Touch the base of your thumb with the ring finger while resting the thumb on the latter, while keeping the other three fingers stretched and straight. The two fingers placed together are believed to signify and encourage energy, stability, wellbeing, and strength.
  • Ling Mudra: This is the last type of Mudra in which you entwine the fingers of both hands, While doing this, ensure that left thumb in straight upwards, with right thumb and index finger encircling it.

Benefits of Yoga Mudra:

Each Type of Yoga Mudra comes with its own benefits. To underline a few:

  • Gyan Mudra:  Very effective in curing mental diseases, helps in relaxing the mind thus radiating happiness develops your intellectuality and also sharpens your memory.
  • Shoonya Mudra: This is very effective in curing diseases related to pains in the ear
  • Apaan Mudra:  This Mudra aids in cleansing the body by eliminating waste through the ears, nose, mouth or eyes. It also cleanses the digestive system, Helps in clearing the body by elimination of waste matter from the mouth, eyes, ears, nose etc. It also cleans the urinary system and helps prevent constipation.
  • Prana Mudra: This is known to be very fruitful for all types of diseases. It gives more power to the eyes and is believed to instill our body with the life force.
  • Vayu Mudra: This Mudra helps in curing ailments, such as like arthritis and in Parkinson’s disease. Its known to give the best results if practiced along with Prana Mudra.
  • Prithvi Mudra: It is known to render the body strong and our physique sturdy. Even this Mudra is believed to instill happiness.
  • Varun Mudra: When our blood quality deteriorates due to shortage of fluids, practicing this Mudra is believed to replenish the same and thus improve the quality of our blood.
  • Surya Mudra: Helps in losing on our extra calories
  • Ling Mudra: This Mudra is known to generate heat in the body and thus aid in curing cough and cold.

In short, the Mudras benefit our body by working on the bio magnetic fields, our psyche and mental health, the physical body and the mind. They clear the spiritual hubs and delicate channels of our body. This in turn allows the life force to run without any restraint through the various parts of our being. The Mudras also cleanse the body’s bio magnetic field and guard it against the external negative forces.

What should you know before practicing Yoga Mudras?

By now it is clear to us that the sole purpose Mudras is to completely regenerate and transform our body and mind, thereby expanding our consciousness. However before practicing any Mudra, we should consult our doctor. Certain health cases can worsen with the practice of Yoga Mudra- such as, Diabetes. Mudras can be practiced at all times, such as resting, walking, talking, lying or sitting. For the best results you should make it a daily habit.

Photo credit: Flickr


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.